top of page

#Tall People Issues

Tall people have been around for centuries. Nowadays, the assessment for if someone is tall or not is based on how they compare to the average height of their country of origin. For instance, the average height for a woman who lives in the USA is 5 feet 3.75 inches, and the average height for a man living in the USA is 5 feet 9.5 inches. (I am considered tall for a female because I surpass the average height by 5 inches.) The tallest man who was ever born in the USA was Robert Pershing Wadlow. His last recorded height was 8 feet 11.1 inches. (He completely shattered the average height for a male during that time period.)

There are some challenges to being tall. Mr. Pant, the 9th grade American History teacher, is 6 feet 7 ¾ inches. So, he is a tall person. Now, simple tasks like buying clothes and shoes might seem easy to do, but it is not all that stress-free for tall people. Mr. Pant stated, “Buying clothes has always been an annoyance.” Stores do have “big and tall” sections, but they do not always meet the needs for tall teenagers who want to look stylish. My dad is 6 feet 9 inches, and he can never seem to find his size at any “big and tall” sections. That is why some tall people have to special order their clothes and shoes. Mr. Pant added, “I can never buy shoes that I want from stores. I always have to special order them. I don’t like it because I can’t try them on before I buy them.”

Another problem tall people have is fitting in to places. Most places consider the average heights of people in order to judge how big or small to make something. Mr. Pant explained how he tends to hunch at times, so he can fit into places. For instance, Mr. Pant said, “I always have to consider if it’s worth attending an event, like the movies or sporting event, because stadium seats can be tricky. And, one time, it took me 20 seconds longer than everyone else to get out of a roller coaster car because my foot was stuck.” Something that average size people don’t have to think about at all.

Now, the worst problem for tall people is fitting into airplane seats. My dad is always uncomfortable in airplanes. He squeezes into a tiny seat with his legs out in the aisle, and he is still always unhappy. Lucky for him, he usually gets moved up to first class for free. Mr. Pant agreed, by stating, “It’s the one place I feel like my height is a disability. I have to pay more money and hope that I have extra leg room, which is still not enough.” Also, tall people face issues with beds. They don’t want their legs to hang off the edge, but most beds are made for average size individuals. Both Mr. Pant and my dad were fortunate enough to buy a California King Beds. In addition, Mr. Pant said, “I had never had a bed where my feet didn’t hang off the end. I didn’t realize what I was missing.” The last problem that was addressed was the standing in front of people who are short which never seems to go over too well.

Tall people learn to adapt to their situation. Mr. Pant stated, “I am grateful for my life, so I don’t like to complain about my height. I suppose I am forced to think about situations that an average person takes for granted. I have learned how to manage.” For instance, my dad bends under door frames if they are shorter than him, he makes sure he purchases cars that provide him enough leg room, and he doesn’t like airplanes. In closing, Mr. Pant declared, “I’ve been tall my entire life. I never had a growth spurt; I was the tallest student in kindergarten. So, being tall is all I’ve ever known. I think it suits me. I don’t mind helping an old lady get her soup of choice from the top shelf at the grocery store.”

In closing, tall people have issues just like short people. Even though, the average height for NBA players as of 2015 is 6 feet 6 inches, and the average height for models is 5 feet 8 inches to 5 feet 11 inches. These are considered “tall people careers,” but they face challenges. So, be grateful for your height because everyone has some issues when it comes to what they can and cannot do.

Sources

http://www.averageheight.co/average-female-height-by-country

http://www.averageheight.co/average-male-height-by-country

https://seatsmart.com/blog/history-of-the-nba-player/

http://www.guinnessworldrecords.com/world-records/tallest-man-ever

https://www.leaf.tv/articles/the-average-height-of-a-model/


bottom of page