top of page

Connecting Two Different Worlds


In June of 2017, five students who have attended the Dayton Regional STEM School (DRSS) will be attending an international internship experience to Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH). The five students attending are Victoria Cockrell, Gloria Campos, Bri Perkins, Bethany Wilson, and Austin Davis. These students are a mix of sophomores and juniors in high school, and even a freshman in college. Bethany Wilson graduated from DRSS in the year 2016.

There is also five BiH students (Nikola, Edna, Mateo, Rijad and Dario) attending this internship opportunity. They are really excited for this endeavor to come to America. Nikola said, “I want to get the experience. The experience of seeing something new, learning something new and meeting new people. Of course, I would like to learn some things from different, experienced views and to feel the culture that is surely different than mine.”

Everyone has different reasons and interests for why they want to participate in this internship. For example, Edna wants to practice her English more since she often doesn’t get to use it in Mostar. Nikola wants to learn more about entrepreneurship. Mateo wants to definitely try American food and learn about the American culture. He also said that he is most excited to visit the Cleveland Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. However, they have one thing in common: They want to meet new people and experience new things.

Students also already their future plans. Nikola said, “My future plans after the DRSS experience are clear. When I come back, my college exams await me, so I must prepare for them. Then, I will take a vacation with my friends in Croatia. Long-term plans for me is to finish up my Bachelor degree quickly as I could. Go on a AIESEC exchange program, also to further my involvement in AIESEC, which I am an active member of. And possibly to finish my master’s degree in Zagreb and either to stay there and look for a job, or return to Mostar and start my own business.” Edna’s plan is “to continue my studies, informing my colleagues about everything that I learned in Dayton. Hopefully, this will encourage me to try something new, maybe another exchange program or something.” Mateo’s plan is to go back to BiH and find work in digital marketing. In addition, Mateo stated, “I want to find something to completely satisfy my life.”

Two nationalities will be coming together to partake in an once-in-a-lifetime experience that very few have ever gotten to experience before.


bottom of page